J.S. Bach


The J.S. Bach Home Page is a joint project of Jan Hanford and Jan Koster.

Jan Hanford
North America

  • The main home page
  • BWV Database
  • Recommended Recordings
  • Timeline
  • Links to Bach-related web sites

  • Jan Koster

  • Biography
  • Bibliography
  • Tourist Guide
  • Portraits
  • The Cantatas Project
  • A Message from Jan Hanford:

    After 12 years of maintaining the J.S. Bach Home Page I've decided to stop accepting submissions of recordings and reviews of existing recordings to the database.

    When I started the J.S. Bach Home page in 1995, there was very little about Bach or his music on the web. In particular, lists of recordings and listener comments did not exist, so maintaining the "Recommended Recordings" section of the web site was both interesting and enjoyable.

    The web has changed a lot since 1995, and now there is a lot of information about J.S. Bach, for good or bad, as well as vast databases of recordings and listener reviews/comments.

    I will keep the web site as is and all the existing recordings and reviews as an archive.

    Thank you to everyone who submitted recordings and reviews to the J.S. Bach Home Page over the last 12 years!

    Disclaimer: This is a non-commercial site. The information contained in this site has been collected from several sources and its accuracy cannot be guaranteed. We take no responsiblity for errors and omissions. No copyright has been intentionally violated. If you feel a copyright has been violated please contact me immediately and the material will be removed.

    - Jan Hanford